Harry Potter (obligatory)

17 Jul

This is not the end of my childhood.

Besides the fact that I’m twenty-five years old and technically already a super adult grown up person, I didn’t even get into the Harry Potter series until high school. I think they started when I was in 6th grade or so, and I started reading them after the fourth book was out.

I tried to read the first book when it first came out and everyone was SO INTO IT but I just couldn’t get into the world. Magic? Wizards? Pfft. There’s not even a babysitter’s club involved, I can’t deal with this. I was anti-HP.

My babyest brother had the books. I had read all my books too many times and decided to borrow them. I wound up downright stealing them and claiming them as my own. What resulted was a passionate affair involving midnight book releases and movies. HP6 was in the middle of a move. I went home to the new apartment that had no furniture and the only light came from a bathroom overhead. I laid half in the bathroom so I could read, slept there, and woke up hours late to resume. During my HP7 read, my boyfriend at the time went to sleep while I stayed up until I finished it. He went out and got me breakfast and I ate and cried and slept the rest of the day. I was 21 at this point, and thinking about it now, it’s hard to fathom that the series has been over for that long.

The movies I was less fervent with. For Deathly Hallows Part 2, my original plan was to wait a week or two for everyone else to see it and have the place to myself to cry and reflect. I made it a day and a half. And I only cried once until Marshall laughed at me and then a girl a few rows behind me cried really loud so I had to stop. It was wonderful. Part 1 was after a few days, but only because that’s how long it took to convince Marshall to take me.

At this moment in my life none of these characters are needed as heroes or role models, but I can say with certainty that they have taught me to be good, to be brave, to love and be loved, to be accepting, to be fair, that I can be cunning and witty and the brains and the beauty (I LOOOOOOVE Emma Watson but didn’t she grow up to be waaay to attractive to be Hermione? I know the character becomes more attractive but still) and everything I want to be. And even when I forget all of that, they have taught me the full range of human emotions, because I know I have felt each of them within this series. If nothing else, it’s given me friends I can always turn to.

2 Responses to “Harry Potter (obligatory)”

  1. Lorraine July 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I read the first book in middle school too and just did not get into it at all. I never revisited the series, though and resisted everyone’s insistance that I HAD to. Recently, though, I’ve been emailing with a group of 10 other girl bloggers. We talk about everything and we got into a habit of recommending and sharing books. We all read the Hunger Games together and then they insisted I read HP.

    And then the idea was born for me to watch all the movies and THEN read the books. I just finished movie 4. I didn’t expect to like Harry so much, but he’s pretty bad ass. 🙂

    Lor

    • Justine July 28, 2011 at 3:43 am #

      I think the books are definitely worth giving another shot, especially if you like the movies. But maybe only if you really REALLY like them. There’s so much more story and details in the books, but the movies do a fantastic job as a stand alone thing.

Leave a Reply

