Lifting Baby Bears.

9 Sep

I did not decide to get fit and then forget about it. I even bought a scale! I don’t really care about what the number is, though it was a little higher than I was expecting. It’s also the same number as when I moved here when I was the heaviest I’d ever been. My body looks different now, and I feel different, there was just a shock of dread the first time I saw it.

I also temporarily lifted a self-imposed book buying ban to buy “The New Rules of Lifting for Women”, which is great because it’s basically like: No 1 – Lift like a man. I’m still in the introductory chapters while I build up how much I can lift. And I’m learning a lot about how muscles work and how bodies work and it’s all very interesting.

I want to be strong. I want to lift a bear. Luckily we leave for campiversary next week….totally kidding. I’m not strong enough yet.

I also want to do hand-stand pushups and run 5k without stopping. All of this will take some time. And I can wait.

One Response to “Lifting Baby Bears.”

  1. Lorraine September 23, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I relate to this so much. I want to be fit and strong, not maybe in a conventional “skinny” way, but I just want to be able to do things. Maybe like lift bears… but not quite. 😉

    Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

