Gratitude

23 Nov

I love being a displaced orphan at the holidays. Everyone feels bad for you and wants you to come to their house and eat their food. There are no 16 hour car trips, nasty casseroles, or moms yelling at me. Last year, Marshall was still working so we couldn’t go to his family thing and we were super broke AND he broke his car and had to take mine to work so I was stranded at his place with The Dog and a package of hot dogs.

This year we are not so broke, and not doing anything holiday related. He won’t even let me buy a cheapo fake Christmas tree at Target. His car is fixed, so I think this weekend we are going to go drive it over rocks and into ditches. I don’t understand the appeal of wheeling – we went last weekend and it was okay but seems expensive and pointless.

I still want to reflect on the things I am thankful for, so here we go:

  • The family we’ve made. It’s just a boy and a girl and a dog and a cat, but it seems like so much more when we’re all in the bed fighting for covers.
  • Friends. We’re bad at keeping in touch since I’ve moved and they’ve moved and we’re all at different places in our lives now. I value the instant connection that can be made and how easy it is to fall back into it.
  • Things I take for granted. That I have a home and a job with insurance and food and clean water. Even when times are tough, we don’t fall behind on the things we need to keep these things. I think ‘Living in modern times’ kind of goes here too, with medicine and the internet and everything,
  • Marshall. In a seriously sappy way.

 

Leave a Reply

