Wedding Update!

5 Aug

(WordPress has totally been fucking everything up for me recently. I will write something somewhat coherent and interesting and then hit ‘publish post’ and get an INVALID REQUEST error message. Copy post, try to paste in a new blank post page and….nothing. So I get mad and half-ass a new, somewhat similar post, but it’s never the same.)

  • Engagement ring purchased! Now I just have to wait a week for it to get here! I got to pick it out, which has caused a little jealousy from some friends who are engaged/married (the upside to Marshall not knowing that engagement rings are different from wedding bands, I guess). I went with lab created white sapphires (cruelty free and budget friendly!).

  • Wedding bands have been found and will be purchased in about two weeks. We’re going with matching-ish black tungsten bands. Total for all three rings is less than $175, which fits our practically non-existent wedding budget.
  • Picking Ja Rule’s “put it on me” as OUR SONG seemed like a good idea at the time. Sorry in advance, everyone else at the courthouse on our wedding day.
  • I need to send out exactly 3 invitations: one to Mickey and Minnie Mouse, one to Cinderella and Prince Charming, and one to the President and the First Lady. They send you a certificate/photo/pin when you send them wedding invitations, and I thought that would be a fun thing to do.
  • And that’s it! That’s all the planning I have to do. We’re going to have photos taken at some point, but that can be whenever. All of my engaged friends have told me to ‘just elope’. My married friends who had “real” weddings agree with our decision.
  • If I had friends close by, or if I was close with my family, I would probably want something different. When I was younger, I wanted the “real” thing and and a great party after….but that’s not what is important – or practical – for us right now.
Leave a Reply

